Writer’s Digest writing competition

I’m participating in a writing contest given by Writer’s Digest. The contest:

Prompt: Write a short story, of 700 words or fewer, that begins with the sentence prompt on the left.

Here is the sentence prompt:

“I’m going to disappoint you. But you knew that already.”

At first I couldn’t think of a durn thing that might begin with that quote. But slowly something came to me, and I wound up having fun writing it down (although the 700-word limit was a bit rough – I got in some good practice at revising). I don’t know if this is the kind of thing they’re looking for at WD, but I figured what the heck? I’ll find out in a week or so if it’s a finalist (doubtful, with the high quality of some of their submissions). Anyhoo, here we go with part 1:

Tanei and the Mimic, part 1

“I’m going to disappoint you. But you knew that already.”

Tanei edged to her left, forcing her adversary to do the same. “You are mad, sorcerer. I know nothing of the kind.”

The other laughed. “Oh, yes, you do. I know you do, because I know everything about you. As you have by now comprehended.”

Looking at her opponent was like staring into a mirror. The sorcerer was Tanei, from her features to her fighting staff to her topknot of black hair. Even the voice was her own.

More, her enemy moved as she did, fought as she did, for all she knew thought as she did. Every attack she had attempted had been countered by motions that matched her own perfectly.

Tanei and her opponent faced off in a stone-walled room lit by lanterns set in the wall. In a corner stood a great guillotine, with shackles on either side and machinery for its operation, the likes of which Tanei had never seen. Its gears were adorned with intricate designs in bronze, depicting its function in gruesome detail.

The sorcerer, seeing her glance at it, seemed pleased with the foul machine. “Beautiful, no? Nevertheless your princess will, as I’ve promised, die on it.”

She launched herself at the sorcerer, and the two staffs clacked together, but her attack was repulsed. Again her opponent had known just what she would do and how she would move.

“You can’t win, you know. All your strengths are my strengths. It’s one of my best enchantments, if I do say so. I’m not a fighter, but no opponent has bested me for… well, quite a while.”

To be continued…

About llawrence

I'm a portrait artist in the process of launching my career. I specialize in rustic and Southwestern portraits. I'm also a handcrafter of artist's pigments and colors, and I'm fascinated with anything to do with this subject. The colors I make are natural and traditional ones, made from earths, minerals and organic sources, in combination with other common materials. To drawing and painting I am now adding writing: specifically young adult fantasy (for now). I hope you'll find something here you'll like!
This entry was posted in All, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Writer’s Digest writing competition

  1. Pingback: Tanei and the Mimic, part 2 | L. Lawrence Bispo

Leave a Reply

