Life drawings

Here are a few life drawings from the past couple of quarters. They are all charcoal on newsprint. Some are five- and 10-minute quicksketches, some are 20-minute layins, and some are completed sketches done in a couple of hours or so. These are just a few of all the drawings I did in Ron’s classes; one of the great things about publishing in blog format is that I can choose only the ones that I think are worth looking at…

Five- and 10-minute quicksketches:

quicksketches

quicksketches

quicksketches

quicksketches

quicksketches

quicksketches

quicksketches

quicksketches

quicksketches

quicksketches

quicksketches

quicksketches

quicksketches

quicksketches

Quicksketches are vital to learning gesture, structure and focusing on large forms and rhythms rather than details (no time for details). They can go all the way down to three-minute, one-minute, or even thirty-second. Here’s a set of three-minute sketches that represents one of my best days ever:

three-minute quicksketches

three-minute quicksketches

A few 20-minute structural layins:

20-minute layin

20-minute layin

20-minute layin

20-minute layin

20-minute layin

20-minute layin

And a few two-hour sketches:

Life drawing

Life drawing

Life drawing

Life drawing

Life drawing

Life drawing

Thanks for looking – more paintings to follow soon!

About llawrence

I'm a portrait artist in the process of launching my career. I specialize in rustic and Southwestern portraits. I'm also a handcrafter of artist's pigments and colors, and I'm fascinated with anything to do with this subject. The colors I make are natural and traditional ones, made from earths, minerals and organic sources, in combination with other common materials. To drawing and painting I am now adding writing: specifically young adult fantasy (for now). I hope you'll find something here you'll like!
This entry was posted in All, Drawing, sketching and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment